Heathwood Lower School

Heathwood Lower School

Meet the Governors

Paula Bangs

Paula is currently the Chair of Governors.Prior to this, she had been a Community Governor and Parent Governor with a long standing association and interest in the wellbeing and direction of the School Community. Paula is a joint director and owner of three local businesses, one of which has been established for over 30 years. Paula thoroughly enjoys her involvement with Heathwood, which she considers to be a vibrant, thriving and flourishing school and she is proud to be its Chair.

Rosemarie Gunter

Rose became a Co-opted Governor at Heathwood in September 2013.  She sits on both the Management and Resources and Teaching and Learning Committees and is Inclusion Governor.  She has responsibility for School Council, Sports Council, Fairtrade, Rights Respecting, Eco Council and British Values.  Rose has grandchildren who attend the School.

Rose is now retired and works in a voluntary capacity in the local community. She is Vice-Chair of the Patient Participation Group (PPG) at her surgery.

Hayley Fitch

Hayley has been a parent governor since 2013 and her youngest child is sadly in her last year.  She has a background in Accounting and Banking and is Chair of the Management and Finance committee. Hayley is responsible for anything finance related and supports the office on various projects.  She also sits on the Central Beds Schools Forum which discusses and approves local school budgets and resources. Hayley is currently Maths course team leader at Milton Keynes College.

Beth Sedgwick

Beth became a parent governor at the start of 2020 and is on the Management and Resources Committee. She is a senior civil servant at the Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, with experience of sponsoring Government organisations. Beth's daughter is in Year 2 at Heathwood and is very happy at school. 

Jonathan Young

Jonathan has been a Parent Governor since January 2016.  He has two daughters at Heathwood and one who used to attend.  He offers experience in building management, Health and Safety and future building project works. Jonathan is Vice-Chair of Management and Resources Committee.

Carol Wyatt

Both my children attended Heathwood, although some time ago and I live not too far from the school and have seen it's development close up. I work on the bank at Milton Keynes Hospital part time, having formally retired as a Medical Secretary from there some time ago. 


Being a Governor is a new experience for me, and in these challenging times, possibly more so but from what I have seen, the cooperation between the Governors and teachers is excellent.  I look forward to becoming more involved with the School as things return to 'normal'.

Susanne Dove

Susanne has been proud to be the Headteacher at Heathwood Lower School since September 2014.  As Headteacher she is a member of all Committees and attends all meetings.  Susanne has been working in education for more than 30 years, previously teaching in London, Buckinghamshire, Milton Keynes and Bedfordshire.


Elaine Dicocco

Elaine has been associated with Heathwood for a very long time; since she chose it as a school for her own children.  Having volunteered as a School librarian and was also an active member of the PTA, she then worked as a Teaching Assistant progressing to Language Provision nursery nurse and now is the Assistant Headteacher.  Elaine enjoys learning and opportunities to make learning fun, interesting and accessible for the children. 


Paul Dicker

Paul joined the school in 2005 and has taught in Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 during this time.  He is  Assistant Head with responsibility for SEND, and leads on a range of subject areas across the school, including Literacy, ICT and PE.  Paul thoroughly enjoys teaching at Heathwood and is proud to have been involved in a number of initiatives and changes, which have helped the school develop over the past few years.